Unable to run launcher

Get help with installation, technical support and bug resolution

Unable to run launcher

Postby Gerund » Tue Aug 28, 2012 4:02 pm

Perhaps you can help. I have downloaded the installer and ran it. There is a shortcut on my desktop, and when I click on it, I get one (sometimes two, three or four) pop-ups "User Account Control" Do you want the following program to make changes to your computer?

I do have the Samsung Kies software installed, as did one of your other users with an installation problem, but the process is not running.

Once I click "Yes" on the pop-up, it goes away and then I either get another pop-up (same as the first) or the process "Xlauncher.exe" just goes away.
Last edited by Gerund on Tue Aug 28, 2012 4:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Gerund
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:38 pm

Re: Unable to run launcher

Postby Gerund » Tue Aug 28, 2012 4:12 pm

All of my log files look like the following:

2012-08-28__17-07-54 | Start Log
2012-08-28__17-07-55 | Update Launcher
2012-08-28__17-07-56 | Copied 757760 bytes in 1221.0 msec - launcher\xlauncher.temp

Any ideas?
Gerund
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:38 pm

Re: Unable to run launcher

Postby Kyosuke » Tue Aug 28, 2012 4:27 pm

Yeah, this is the issue I thought Salival was experiencing. It is a problem that can occur when our launcher attempts to update itself. The fix is as follows:

I've attached a version of the xLauncher app to this post, naming it xLauncher.temp. Download it and put it in the directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\Xulu\launcher. Rename it to xLauncher.exe. Go ahead and overwrite the one that should already be there. Then try to running Xulu again. This is the latest xLauncher version and therefore doesn't need to update itself. This "self-updating" process sometimes causes problems because it requires Admin privileges.

Edit: Attach fail... see my next post.
Last edited by Kyosuke on Tue Aug 28, 2012 4:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kyosuke
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Unable to run launcher

Postby Gerund » Tue Aug 28, 2012 4:30 pm

I did give the launcher admin privledges, but all that does is keeps the pop-ups to just the one. The process still dies without a word.
Gerund
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:38 pm

Re: Unable to run launcher

Postby Kyosuke » Tue Aug 28, 2012 4:44 pm

Here's the fully updated xLauncher.exe. *Link Removed*

Edit: To anyone that comes here with the same problem, please send an e-mail to support@xulu.com requesting a fully updated copy of the xLauncher.exe. You might want to also include in this e-mail a brief description of the problem and/or a link to this thread.
Last edited by Kyosuke on Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kyosuke
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Unable to run launcher

Postby Gerund » Tue Aug 28, 2012 4:46 pm

Yeah! The launcher is running.
Gerund
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:38 pm

Re: Unable to run launcher

Postby Kyosuke » Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:06 pm

Cool. I'm glad you're up and running.

By the way, I was just filled in on the what the underlying issue is, so I could bore you with the details (at least on a conceptual level), but it might suffice to say, giving the launcher admin priviledges doesn't cut it.
Kyosuke
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Unable to run launcher

Postby GoughGhan » Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:35 pm

Kyosuke wrote:Cool. I'm glad you're up and running.

By the way, I was just filled in on the what the underlying issue is, so I could bore you with the details (at least on a conceptual level), but it might suffice to say, giving the launcher admin priviledges doesn't cut it.


You should bore me with the tech details.
The fish in my reef tank are plotting against me......

Image
GoughGhan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Unable to run launcher

Postby Gerund » Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:46 pm

I really wouldn't mind being bored with the details, either.

Now, I'm installed, but not running. As I try to launch from the launcher, I get a small log-in dialog, and then a large white box (no frame or anything) about 33% of my 1920 x 1028 screen and stops responding.

I have a very difficult time shutting it down. Does not respond to even "End Process Tree" commands.
Gerund
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:38 pm

Re: Unable to run launcher

Postby Kyosuke » Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:56 pm

Is the white box set on a black background, ie the entire client is black with just the white box on it? Also, when this occurs, do you notice an error dialog has popped up in the background?
Kyosuke
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 3:50 pm

Next

Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron